Why my husband and I chose not to have a shotgun wedding

I’m young so to be honest I was petrified to tell people when I was pregnant. I was only 19 years old when I found out but I swear the second we announced I was pregnant the questions started. “When’s the wedding” “your getting married first, right?” Mmm not quite. 

I wanna start off by saying there is nothing wrong with having a shot gun wedding. I’m all for it if that’s what you want to do. 

1. I did not want a maternity wedding dress

That is for sure the most vain of reasons for not getting married while pregnant and honestly one of the biggest ones for me. I wasn’t one of the girls who dreamed of a weddingtheure whole life but once Pinterest was a thing I definitely was. I knew I wanted a pretty cute hugging mermaid dress or perfect Cinderella worthy gown. On that note have you seen the maternity options? Pretty but just not my style. On a similar note I also wanted to be able to sip mimosas with the girls getting ready and keep a pineapple juice with Malibu in hand most of the night. 

2. I didn’t want a courthouse wedding

I respect and fully understand why people chose to have courthouse weddings. I just couldn’t bring myself too it I love weddings too damn much. Which is why I now have an event planning business. 

3. I married my husband because I love him and want to spend the rest of my life with him not.because we have baby together 

I didn’t marry my husband because we have a child together because that just isn’t good enough. I married him because I wake up every morning smiling when I turn to my left. I just didn’t want our wedding to be about the pregnancy I wanted it to be about the two of us. 

Leave a Reply

